January 12, 2011 — The Federation for Earth Science Information Partners elected officers to its executive committee for 2011-2012. The new officers started their terms, January 5, 2011, during the ESIP Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Chris Lenhardt, ORNL DAAC was elected President of the Federation. Karl Benedict, Earth Data Analysis Center, UNM, will serve as Vice President. Rob Raskin, JPL, will chair the Constitution and Bylaws committee. Charles Hutchinson, UAZ, will chair the Finance and Appropriations committee. Annette Schloss, UNH, will chair the Partnership committee. Bruce Caron, The New Media Studio, will chair the Education committee. Rahul Ramachandran, ORNL, will chair the Information Technology and Interoperability committee. Nettie Labelle-Hamer, Alaska Satellite Facility, will serve as the Type I representative. Brian Wilson, JPL, will serve as the Type II representative. Stefan Falke, Washington University, will serve as the Type III representative.
The ESIP Federation is a consortium of Earth science data and technology professionals spanning government (NASA, NOAA, EPA, USGS, NSF), academia and the private sectors (both commercial and nonprofit). The organization is dedicated to transforming research data and information into useful and usable data and information products for decision makers, policy makers and the public. Initiated by NASA in 1997 in response to a study by the National Academy of Science, the ESIP Federation provides data, products and services to decision makers and researchers in public and private settings. The Foundation for Earth Science provides administrative and staff support to the ESIP Federation.


Chris Lenhardt
President, Federation of Earth Science Information Partners

Carol Meyer
Executive Director, Foundation for Earth Science