The NOAA David Johnson Award is presented by the National Space Club at the annual Dr. Robert J. Goddard memorial Dinner. The award was established in 1999 to honor the first Administrator of what was to become the NOAA National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service. The award recognizes young professionals who have developed an innovative application of Earth observation satellite data (alone or in combination with non-satellite data) that is, or could be, used for operational purposes to assess and/or predict atmospheric, oceanic, or terrestrial conditions. The satellite data used may be from any Earth observation satellite, e.g., U.S. government, commercial, or foreign satellites.

Past award recipients include:

2010 Dr. Lidia Cucurull, NOAA, National Weather Service
2009 Dr. Molly E. Brown – University of Maryland, College Park
2008 Dr. William J. Blackwell – MIT Lincoln Laboratory
2007 Dr. Peter J. Etnoyer – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies
2006 Dr. Steven D. Miller – Naval Research Laboratory
2005 Dr. Jeffrey T. Morisette – National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Goddard Space Flight Center
2004 Dr. Jason Dunion – University of Miami, Cooperative Institute of Marine and Atmospheric Studies
2003 Dr. John A. Knaff – Colorado State University, Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere
2002 James Cantore – Weather Channel
2001 Dr. Jun Li – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies
2000 Dr. Gregg Jacobs – Naval Research Laboratory
Dr. Brian Soden – NOAA, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
1999 Dr. Kevin J. Schrab – NOAA, National Weather Service
Dr. Fuzhong Weng – NOAA, National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service

The National Space Club, a non-profit organization, is devoted to fostering excellence in space activity through interaction between industry and government, and through a continuing program of educational support. Awards are offered to recognize significant achievements in space science and enterprise.

Find more information on the award and the complete Call for Nominations with instructions for submission at: